Locke ROCKS at Odyssey of the Mind Competition

 Mittye P. Locke Elementary is proud to share exciting Odyssey of the Mind news! 

Odyssey of the Mind started in the United States in 1978. Now, this program is international in over 36 countries.  We are very proud of program, students, coaches, and family members!

Our “Odyssey Olympians” created 9 teams, 4 primary and 5 intermediate, and represented our school at the Regional Tournament on March 8, 2014.

These determined teams have been working since September to solve problems in unique ways, create the solutions, and practice presentations in  “Out of the Box” fashion.  Over 186 teams competed at Thomas E. Weightman Middle School in both long term solutions and spontaneous problems.

All of the teams represented our school with pride and sportsmanship.  It was a tremendous day to be a Locke Eagle! Congratulations to all 9 of our teams who competed!  We are VERY PROUD of YOU ALL!

 There are 4 teams moving on to the State Finals who will represent our school and the Gulf Coast Region. These teams will compete against the best schools in the State on April 12th in Orlando at UCF.  Mittye P. Locke is cheering for you as you continue to practice, improve your solutions, and aim to finish as strong as possible. 

Let’s Cheer On:
Primary Team Blue: Caitlyn Carbone, Haley Glover, Austin Jared, Dylan Starks, and Leah Wade
Primary Team Orange:  Joel Adamski, Catalina Harvey, Liam Hendley, Ava Morrison, Nicholas Tongco, and Lillian Winans
Structure Team: Kurt Blass, Amber Esposito, McKayla Maynard, Elana Phoeun, Kaileb Quiroz, Gabby Rayburn, and William WIerman
Seeing is Believing:  Katryna Adamski, Samantha Cragle, Nicholas Greene, Holly Good, Genavieve Newton, Isabella Newton, and Emma Sisco
*Special OMER Award for an individual was awarded to Joel Adamski.
*OMER Award for a team work was awarded to “Seeing is Believing”.
*Highest Honor for Creativity, Ranatra Fusca, was awarded for their Long Term Solution to “Seeing is Believing”.
**If interested in supporting these teams moving on to State in any way, please contact the front office.